Up before the sun. To run?

January 4, 2013 at 7:00 pm Leave a comment

Sure, getting up before the sun is not really that hard in the dead of winter. But there is something poetic about being up early –  before the sun for most of the year, and before most other people, for that matter.

I’ve written before about waking up early to write. But now that I am starting a new job, with regular starting hours (i.e 8:30 am instead of 10 am), I will now HAVE to wake up early. Plus, I am still going to try hard to keep my workouts in the morning.

I experimented today. I had a 9 am appointment, and needed to be out of the house by 8:30. I woke up at 6 am – no snooze button! – and hauled myself to the gym (waking up today wasn’t that hard actually – I think I woke up around a quarter ’til 6 and just waited for the alarm). After my workout (a 4 mile run), I stopped into Marc’s to pick up some cauliflower for tonight’s meal and some lotion. I was home by 7:30 am. A workout and an errand before 7:30? Sign me up! (I also made it safely to my appointment on time.)

Seriously, I love accomplishing a lot in the morning. It’s definitely my productive time.

So in order to be out the door between 7:45 and 8 am every morning, I am looking at a 5:15 am wake up to go straight to the gym. Because, you see, I also need to build in time to have breakfast and coffee while reading the paper before going to work.

I am looking forward to this, actually. I like the idea of feeling like a crazy person for being awake at 5:15 am, only to get to the gym to be around other crazies 🙂 I am also a little nervous! Hopefully, posting my plan on the blog will hold me accountable, and that after a week or so it will feel like second-nature (also known as a routine).

I claim to be a morning person and someone who likes to be “up before the sun” – I guess we’ll see if that’s true, starting Monday!

What’s your morning routine?

Entry filed under: Routine. Tags: , , , , , , .

New Year, New Hustle.

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


