Happy first day of Winter!

December 21, 2012 at 9:09 pm Leave a comment

Well, as expected, we’re getting hit pretttttty good right now with some snow. Luckily, we don’t have anywhere we have to be for the rest of the day or tomorrow. Basically, we’re hiding 🙂

It’s an appropriate start to the Winter though, right?!

Speaking of the first day of Winter, I have to say I am glad it’s here. Why? Because it’s also the shortest day of the year. That’s right, today is the longest it will be dark. Which means we’ve made it into the depths, and the only way to go is up.

I am all about the sun. I crave it, I yearn for it, I bask in it when it is here.

And, I miss it.

From here on out though, the days get longer and longer and longer and looooooooonger.

I know we have a ways to go, trust me. But I feel heartened that I’ve made it to the brink without losing my mind. 🙂

Related: Does anyone know why Christmas lights on houses are a thing? Is it because Christmas comes during the darkest part of the year, and the lights help offset that? I reasoned that as a possibility in my head, but I have zero proof.

Anyway, I am glad it’s the shortest day of the year. And if you’re somewhere getting hit hard, too, be safe and warm and dry 🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Preparing for snow. Countdown to Christmas

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


