Preparing for snow.

December 20, 2012 at 7:44 pm 1 comment

By all accounts, Cleveland is about to get hit with the first snowstorm of the season. Yay! ?

We will have snow coming down, it will still be windy and thanks to the wet roads and (now) cold temperatures, there will be some slick spots.  Thanks to the wind, wind chills will be in the 20s and teens!  The heavier snow will pick up late morning and the EVENING commute will be considerably worse.  3″-5″ could accumulate..

Friday night the lake effect continues and we could see some good accumulation in the snowbelts.  This is why there is a WINTERSTORM WATCH for Cuyahoga, Lake, Geauga and Ashtabula counties from Thursday night THROUGH Saturday evening.

Side Note: What does it mean when meteorologists admit that their forecast is “complicated”?

SO anyway. Yeah, here it comes, I guess. I think secretly we’ve all been hoping for a mild winter on par with last year, since we haven’t gotten any snow to really speak of yet this year. But I feel we may be in for a wake up call tomorrow. Well, Cleveland winter: bring it on (I guess).

So to prepare for the snow, I went on a 6 mile run this morning, before the rain started. Gotta get in all the running I can before the sidewalks get covered in snow and ice. It was pretty cold though, not going to lie. And the wind. Oh the wind.

I’m also planning to make a big ol’ pot of Quinoa Chicken Soup tonight. I basically used this recipe from Iowa Girl Eats, except with only regular potatoes and no sweet potatoes because no matter what I do, I can’t get myself to like sweet potatoes, which makes me sad, but it’s just reality I guess. (It’s the sweetness, I think. I am not interested in sweet-ish main dishes.) I think I used rosemary instead of thyme, too, since that what we’ve got.

Poor M is sick, so this soup also serves as a Get Well dish.

I better admit, too, that there is part of me that hopes it snows enough, and that it sticks, so the snow is here for………Christmas!

If you’re in an area getting snow tomorrow, are you doing anything to “prepare”?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Good comedy. Happy first day of Winter!

1 Comment Add your own

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


