Good comedy.

December 19, 2012 at 2:37 pm Leave a comment

I am not a big TV or movie person. However, if I am going to watch something, eight or nine times out of ten, I’d rather watch a TV show or a movie that will make me laugh rather than something in the drama or action genre.

Here is the thing though: good comedy is hard to find sometimes, especially in mainstream comedy. And mainstream is where I’m at – so this post will probably offend those of you who are comedy buffs or whatever. I’m just a casual comedy fan who craves smart comedy that makes me laugh and that is also not offensive. Trust me, it’s possible.

For example:

Wanda Sykes makes a good, funny rape joke (via this post by Kate Harding with tons of actually funny rape jokes).

SO good.

But so much mainstream comedy is just annoying. My classic example is The Hangover, which I refuse to see or even link to.

This is my dilemma. I, of course, loved Bridesmaids and I went through a Modern Family phase. But, I am always on the lookout for good comedy. Which is why I am very glad I started watching The Mindy Project.

I had been meaning to read Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?  for awhile, and finally started it on Monday. It made me laugh a lot – and I started that night, too, to watch some episodes of the TV show.

Seriously, the book and the show are both examples of smart, genuine, actually funny comedy. I admit: I’m obsessed (related: I’m obsessed with adding videos to blog posts, too!).

 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Kelly Clarkson – Catch My Breath Preparing for snow.

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


