Gift Giving. (Or Not.)

December 12, 2012 at 1:45 pm 1 comment

I do love this time of year!

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, actually. It kicks off this cozy and cheerful time of year! It’s also about getting together with family without worrying about gifts.

But I do love Christmas, too! And although I like Christmas for the getting together with family and friends, and for the holiday spirit in general, it is a holiday that includes giving – and receiving, if you’ve been nice 🙂 – gifts.

It can be hard, when you’re on a budget to manage all the gifts you need and want to give.

Actually, we don’t have that many gifts to buy, and most of the gifts we do have to buy come with a dollar limit (for a Secret Santa or other game). And, this year, for our nieces, we have decided to spend money on an experience, not a thing. So, I don’t feel bad about spending money for that one!

For M and I though, we struggle every year with setting a limit on how much to spend on each other. Last year I think it was just $25 with the requirement that it fit in a stocking. That was pretty tough! This year, well, we decided not to get each other anything!

You see, M was going to get me a pair of work pants that actually fit, but then when we were at the store, we found the jacket that goes with the pants, and a few other things. We kind of decided then that since we bought my suit together, and M has been buying work shirts that actually fit him, we didn’t need to spend money on presents for each other.

And, I am pretty OK with that.

BUT. I did get him a pretty great birthday present that should be arriving any moment now, that I’m pretty tickled about. And we’re going out to dinner for his birthday (it was yesterday). I think overall we tend to go bigger for our birthdays than Christmas. Which is fine with me. I can’t wait for M to hope his present tonight!

What do you do for gift giving around this time of year?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Knowing when to rest. Tillamook Cheese.

1 Comment Add your own

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


