Knowing when to rest.

December 10, 2012 at 8:14 pm Leave a comment

The worst habit I have for my health is not knowing when to rest – or knowing I should, but not allowing myself to rest.

Say it with me now: Guilt.

I woke up Sunday e-x-h-a-u-s-t-e-d. The back and forth to Michigan caught up with me, plus a busy Saturday running, baking and Christmas card writing (which I love to do, but still), and then we were out late.

So, as I said, I woke up and all I wanted to do was keep sleeping. But I had things to do, and thought perhaps a run would shake me awake. I couldn’t fathom sleeping in and skipping a workout.

Well, I should have done just that. I was in a daze all day, and felt terrible. I couldn’t focus, let alone make decisions. I felt worse and worse and worse as the day went on.

It was especially disheartening to feel this way, because I love spending time with my family; baking – especially Christmas cookies; and spending some time with friends from the Village. All these things were super fun, but nothing is really 100% enjoyable when you’re exhausted.

Today, I woke up still feeling terrible. And I even went to bed at a good time yesterday. I decided to sleep some more. Yes, that means I slept a lot last night and yes, it means I skipped my workout today.

But I feel pretty good right now, so I think it means it was the right decision. Plus, I got back into my healthy breakfast followed by salad/brown rice for lunch, which I think helped immensely.

SO yeah, sometimes resting is where it’s at. In fact, resting is a key component of self-care.

I think it’s ultimately about listening to your body. There have been plenty of times where I’ve felt sluggish, and a good run shook me out of it. But given that this approach did not work yesterday, I had to try something else today – rest. And it worked.

Thank goodness, too, because I was over feeling terrible.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Domestic Goddess Gift Giving. (Or Not.)

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


