Domestic Goddess

December 9, 2012 at 3:14 pm Leave a comment

Yesterday, besides running a 5K in support of the Arthritis foundation, I spent a lot of time in the kitchen. Before the race, I put together potato soup in the slow cooker. Sometimes, especially on cold Saturdays, knowing I have something warm, healthy (because of course it was a healthy version of potato soup), and delicious simmering away for me to eat later is enough. I mean really.

After the race, I got to work preparing cookie dough for my family’s annual cookie baking session. My mom, aunt, grandma, cousins, and I (or some variation of all those people) typically get together each year for one day of all-out Christmas cookie baking. Last year, perhaps because I finally had my own kitchen, we decided we would start something new: everyone was required to make dough from scratch. Yes!

This year (and last year), I prepared gingerbread cookie dough (two batches) as well as chocolate cookie dough. Yum!

I also – and really this is the moment you’ve been waiting for – made homemade bread.

I know. 

I used this recipe and it could not have been easier. Or more delicious. I am very excited to play around with this basic bread recipe and come up with different flavor combinations!

So that’s that. I really did feel like a domestic goddess yesterday – homemade (healthy) potato soup, homemade cookie dough, homemade bread.

Other than that, we went to a game night with M’s co-workers, which was a lot of fun.

So a full and exciting day. And now? Oh it’s cookie baking time.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Post Marathon Running Knowing when to rest.

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


