Post Marathon Running

December 7, 2012 at 2:17 pm Leave a comment

On Oct. 7, I successfully ran my first marathon. It was absolutely thrilling and I am still so proud of myself. I ran it in just about 5 hours (technically 4:59:46:44, but “5” is easier). That was the earliest I thought I would finish, but was expecting closer to 5 and a half hours. 

I did it. I ran 26.2 miles. 

It’s still a little hard to believe, but like I said I feel nothing but proud of myself. 

Since then, my running schedule as been a little, well, all over the place. I rolled right into the thick of the election, which means I was working a lot and doing a lot of canvassing, too. Then, it seems things just kept coming up that prevented me from sticking to a super firm running schedule. 

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve still been running a lot. As I mentioned, I did the Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving and had a surprisingly good time (for me). But still, it’s not like before. Which is maybe OK, considering I had to be really strict with my running this summer. Perhaps I need this loosey goosey running schedule for a bit, before I start training for the Cleveland Half-Marathon in May

I suppose I’ve been trying to focus on running for fun, rather than because I’m sticking to a schedule, which is a nice change. And I do really enjoy running. 

Today, for example, I woke up grumpy and out of sorts. But after a relaxing three mile run, I feel ten times better. Running just has a super positive effect on me. 

So running since my marathon (two months ago now!) has been a little haphazard, but it has allowed me to rediscover running just for fun, rather than because of a (somewhat demanding and time-consuming) schedule. And that just makes me more excited for my next running challenge!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Home Sweet Home. Domestic Goddess

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


