Back in Business?

December 5, 2012 at 2:29 pm 1 comment

So obviously it’s been awhile. But I am starting to get the writing itch again, so I might as well press forward and see about getting back into the blogging business. 

In the three months since my last post, it feels like a lot has happened. Notably our trip to Oregon, which was even better than we could have imagined. It was certainly my kind of vacation – relaxing by doing. We hiked a lot – and our hikes included three mountains. Other than that, we enjoyed the sights and fresh air, plenty of good food, and a lot of time being together. 

I realized that we had not really taken a vacation together in the 5 years we’ve been together. For our one year anniversary, we drove up to Toronto for a few days, but I don’t really count that. It was fun, but not really relaxing, I don’t think. This trip was absolutely 100% relaxing. 

But the relaxation could not last, and as soon as we got back, my job hit full swing with election work. It was a tough slog, but looking back, I am incredibly proud of the work we did. And I will leave it at that, because even now, a month after Election Day, politics still makes me wince. 

And now we’re officially in holiday season. Thanksgiving this year was, well, strange. After running the Turkey Trot, a 5 mile race in downtown Cleveland, and having a great time (for me), it was off to the real races, by which I mean shuffling around to see everyone we possibly could see. Indeed, it was the first year M and I combined with our families, and we spent the day driving and moving from place to place, which we wanted so desperately to avoid. We still had a nice time with all of our families, but it was definitely different. I think we’ll settle into a firmer routine within a few years though. Like all change, we just need to adjust. 

And that’s the nutshell I suppose, although of course the really abbreviated version. Hopefully I will be able to keep up this momentum and keep writing. 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Black Bean and Avocado Tostadas Home Sweet Home.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tillamook Cheese. « Undefined Ambition  |  December 13, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    […] in September, we took a really epic vacation to Oregon. Seriously: epic. We flew into Portland, rented a car, and then proceeded to make a big loop […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


