Black Bean and Avocado Tostadas

August 31, 2012 at 12:02 pm Leave a comment

So, M is a really picky eater. Maybe I’ve mentioned it? He doesn’t like onions, cold food, sandwiches, salad, and myriad other foods.

On the one hand, I’ll have lots of time to practice cooking for picky eaters if our kids are picky, too. On the other hand, maybe I’ll just force them all to eat what I make, like I did with M last night.

Well, I didn’t force him – he’s a grown man and can eat or not eat what he wants. But I did insist I make dinner when he was very hungry and didn’t exactly tell him what that dinner would consist of.

🙂

I made Black Bean and Avocado Tostadas! (I think I got this recipe from one of the blogs I browse, but I can’t remember which one, and I can’t find it on my usual sites, so the link is to the original recipe.) Now, the original recipe calls for salmon, but neither one of us eats that, so I just left it out. And I made a few other modifications. Here’s what I did:

  • 4 Tumaro’s Low in Carb MultiGrain Tortillas
  • Canola oil cooking spray
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 2 tablespoons banana peppers, plus 2 tablespoons pickling juice from the jar, divided
  • 2 cups coleslaw mix
  • 1 teaspoon dried cilantro
  • 1 15-ounce can black beans, rinsed
  • 3 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt
  • bit of onion, chopped
  • Mozzarella cheese, to taste
  1. Position racks in upper and lower thirds of the oven; preheat to 375°F.
  2. Coat tortillas on both sides with cooking spray. Place on 2 baking sheets. Bake, turning once, until light brown, 12 to 14 minutes.
  3. Combine avocado and banana peppers in a bowl. Combine cabbage, cilantro and the pickling juice in another bowl. Process black beans, Greek yogurt, and onion in a food processor until smooth. Transfer to a microwave-safe bowl. Cover and microwave on High until hot, about 2 minutes.
  4. To assemble tostadas, spread each tortilla with some bean mixture and some avocado mixture and top with the cabbage salad and mozzarella cheese.

We actually really liked it. Despite the fact that M doesn’t like onions, yogurt, or coleslaw.

OK he liked the bean part, but would prefer a few tweaks to want to eat it again. However: he ate two entire tostadas, so,you know, I think I won that round 🙂

Entry filed under: Passions, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

A life-long passion Back in Business?

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


