Reading in peace

August 15, 2012 at 12:35 pm 1 comment

August has been a whirlwind so far, and yesterday evening was one of the few (the only?) weekday evening where I had nothing planned. I took full advantage.

After eating dinner, preparing my lunch for tomorrow, and doing the dishes, I made a beeline for our spare bedroom. We have a futon in there, so I propped up some pillows, laid down, and cracked open the book I am working on.

Glorious.

The book, by the way, is Elizabeth The Queen: The Life of a Modern Monarch by Sally Bedell Smith. It is a new biography about Queen Elizabeth II, and although I am only just over halfway through it, I definitely recommend it. The one downside is that it’s kind of heavy, so a little difficult to read while fully laying down. But, a small price to pay for such an interesting read.

I spent just over an over in the room devouring my book, without the distraction of the TV.

Aaaaand then I fell asleep.

But, carving out the space and time to just read was really delightful. And much needed.

Entry filed under: Leisure. Tags: , , , , , .

It’s August A standing desk experiment.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. A life-long passion « Undefined Ambition  |  August 28, 2012 at 1:56 pm

    […] Broke Horses made me realize how energizing reading a good book can be. I recently finished the newest biography of Queen Elizabeth, which I really enjoyed, but it was more standard non-fiction,which just doesn’t pull me in […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


