Writing

June 26, 2012 at 12:24 pm Leave a comment

I guess if I’m getting serious about leisure, I have to take time to post on writing. It might seem strange to some people that I wake up earlier than necessary most days to write, but for me – and maybe many of the readers of this blog (obviously not a random sample!) – it’s an important leisure-like activity. Maybe it’s not really “leisure”, which apparently is technically defined as

freedom from the demands of work or duty.

Indeed, there are some days writing is a chore, because I feel like I have to do it, i.e. that it’s my duty. Most days though it’s a welcome relief from the myriad other responsibilities that take over my life. Work, volunteer, owning a home, etc., etc. Writing in this blog is a selfish act in some ways. I could take this time to vacuum, or prep for my work day, or even work on a writing project for Home Days. But instead I write for this blog and take the time to really reflect on whatever is going on in my life.

It’s selfish, yes, but also nourishing.

I love writing. Putting words together to form sentences which express ideas is a beautiful act. I find I am so happy when I hit on the perfect word combination to convey what I’m thinking. My thoughts are often jumbled messes, and I am not always great at speaking (unless I prepare thoroughly first by writing my thoughts). Writing is my communication medium of choice.

In eighth grade, I took two quarters of Sociology. It was a random class, and I don’t remember much about it or even the teacher’s name. But I do remember – quite clearly – her asking me if I like to read. I responded warily that yes, I do like to read, and she said she thought so because I am a good writer. She said I was a good writer. And boy, did that stick with me always. I don’t know if it’s true compared to others at this point in my life, but I do know her words helped me think I could write and as such I’ve always felt free to be drawn to writing.

Incidentally, it’s amazing how much power teachers and other adult authority figures have over our lives.

Anyway, where was I? Right. Writing is a great leisure activity, because it’s relaxing and quiet, but also requires some mental effort. It is a great distraction from everything else going on, but also fortifies me for tackling everything else on my to-do list.

I crave the days writing is truly a leisure activity, but also know some of my best writing has happened when it, indeed, took a lot of work. I suppose that’s the interesting thing about writing, though. Sometimes words flow onto the page (or, the screen I guess), and sometimes it’s a battle to focus, focus, focus and express my ideas clearly. It’s always worth it though. In fact, I would love to have the courage to write professionally, and the more I write, the more courageous I feel.

For now though, writing for me is a favorite leisure activity and one I’m not ready to give up anytime soon.

Entry filed under: Leisure. Tags: , , , , .

Full summer days Damned if you do, damned if you don’t

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


