Belated Father’s Day

June 20, 2012 at 12:39 pm Leave a comment

Last Sunday was, of course, Father’s Day, and I definitely wanted to celebrate my awesome dad. My family had plans to go out to breakfast – one of my dad’s favorite activities it seems. I got the urge to bake something sweet for him as well though – and true to this month’s resolutions for leisure, I pursued this idea.

After searching for a relatively easy, but still 100% homemade recipe that would be enjoyed by my dad, I settled on Double Chocolate and Mint Cookies. This was the perfect recipe to make for a day celebrating my dad.

You see, he visits my grandmother every day, and awhile back she started the tradition of giving him one Peppermint Pattie every time. I kid you not – every day he would visit her, and every day he would get his sweet, minty treat.

So, I considered this cookie recipe a dressed version of the mint and chocolate combo, and knew my dad would enjoy them. I also made a second batch for M’s father.

I found the recipe to be just what I was looking for – an element of work was involved to make it a truly homemade treat, but the steps were pretty basic and I was able to do everything without any problems. I was pretty impressed with myself when I successfully melted the chocolate bars over a pot of simmering water, as instructed in the recipe. It took longer to cool than I expected, but it worked out fine.

And, of course, the cookies were a hit with M’s family and with my dad. (And with M who was jealous he didn’t get more.)

I really enjoy baking. I find it relaxing – much more so than cooking. I also love when people really seem to enjoy the finished product. I think getting homemade treats just makes people happy. Well, that was certainly the case with my dad and soon-to-be father-in-law when it came to these Double Chocolate and Mint Cookies.

Entry filed under: Leisure, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Sneaking in some leisure Meeting with the priest

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


