Sneaking in some leisure

June 13, 2012 at 10:52 am Leave a comment

Some days, the only bit of leisure I get is the time I can squeeze into read when I get into bed before I fall asleep. Once I lay down, I fall asleep fairly quickly, so I don’t get a whole lot of reading done, but I still think it’s important to try.

Work and other responsibilities can be overwhelming. Or at least, they can seem to take up your entire day. That’s how my day was yesterday. I started with marathon training (just a 3 mile run, but every workout seems more intense now that it’s Marathon Training, you know?) and then I spent some time doing volunteer stuff for Home Days. I went  into work and had a full day planned. On my lunch hour, I did some stuff for the wedding, including setting up some appointments that now make my schedule even more full. I worked at the office until 8 pm, and then came home to work some more.

Some people, I’m sure, have much busier lives. That’s not really the point though. And I’m not complaining per say – I love getting a lot done and feeling super productive and accomplished. I just mean to say that there wasn’t a whole lot of time yesterday for leisure. And on those days, sneaking it in where you can, even if it’s putting off sleep for 10 minutes, is really important.

Reading especially helps take me away from the day by allowing to me to become immersed in the story and the characters’ lives. Suddenly, the tasks I need to complete don’t seem so bad when Juana is stuck in Spain and pregnant again. Not literally of course, I know it’s historical fiction and I don’t actually compare my life to the characters, but I do enjoy being swept away into a story. I like to read as a way to distract my brain from thinking about the day as it were and all the things coming the next day; I find it  a great way to unwind.

Sneaking in leisure is important, perhaps most important on your busiest days, to bring you back to reality.

How do you sneak some leisure into your busy lives? 

Entry filed under: Leisure. Tags: , , , .

Parade the Circle Belated Father’s Day

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


