Marathon Mental Block

June 6, 2012 at 11:17 am 2 comments

Many people would not call running a “leisure” activity, but in truth it can be very relaxing and, for my anyway, can offer a way to completely de-stress from my responsibilities at work and for my volunteer life. Now that I really think about it, my decision to register for a marathon was really about “going off the path” – running a marathon is not a creative endeavor, but I did start running a few races and then I allowed myself to pursue this interest to its natural end (and biggest challenge), i.e. the marathon.

And yet, now that I’ve registered and we’re inching closer and closer to the marathon, I’ve had a mental block about running at all. By that I  mean, I don’t want to do it. I find myself more inclined to sleep, or do something else to justify skipping a workout – something I had not been doing before! It’s a little weird.

Ultimately, I think I am just nervous about getting really into the training for the run. What if I figure out I can’t even run 13.1, let alone 26.2? What if I hate it? What if I don’t have the time to do a semi-long run in the middle of the week, or have to wake up hours earlier to do it?

These are some of the fears I have about training, and I think they are the source of my lack of desire to, well, actually run. I have to get over them though, because I have to be prepared for race day. I need to push through my – I don’t know quite what to call it, but it’s almost like apathy about running. Whatever it is, I need to push through it and start training. I have to stop focusing on all the negative possibilities, and run as much as I can between now and the race.

That’s it. I can’t stress about the time I have or anything else – I just have to run as much as I can and push myself and fuel myself so that I set myself up for success (defined here as simply finishing the marathon).

Most of all, since running is a leisure activity after all, I have to figure out how to enjoy all this training and extra running, too.

A question for you, dear reader:

Have you ever experience something akin to this marathon mental block I’m going through? What were your strategies for moving past it?

Entry filed under: Leisure. Tags: , , , , .

Year of the Gadfly A mini-separation

2 Comments Add your own

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


