Gardening

June 3, 2012 at 2:49 pm 1 comment

My mom corralled me into working on our flower beds yesterday. They were pretty out of control – weeds and overgrown flowers galore. To be honest, I wanted to garden, but having never had flower beds of my own before, I just didn’t know what to do. I’m realizing that it’s not in my nature to just try things out spontaneously – I am a student and I need to learn how to do something before I’ll try. Basically, I need to feel comfortable with new tasks or activities before trying them.

Thank goodness for my mom then who noticed just how bad the beds were (OK they were filled with green stuff, so I thought they must be fine…) and suggested she come over to help me clean them out. And thank goodness I accepted.

We tackled all four beds in the front yard, and I have to say I can see a huge difference. I learned to spot what’s supposed to be there vs. weeds. vs overgrown plants that need to be removed or just moved. I learned how to cut off the dead stuff to keep the overall plant healthy. And I learned there is really no science to gardening – you just have to do what you think looks good. If something seems out of place, take it out or move it.

Most of all, I learned that gardening is kind of fun and rewarding. It was a great stress reliever and actually pretty therapeutic, too. So satisfying to dig out a weed down to the root and see the plants have more space to breathe.

I think gardening could be a great new leisure activity, because there is really no pressure even though it can be a little labor intensive. And I have a lot of creative freedom with the plants I want to use. So many possibilities! I can’t wait until I can tackle the beds in the backyard.

Entry filed under: Leisure. Tags: , , , .

June has arrived Year of the Gadfly

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Full summer days « Undefined Ambition  |  June 25, 2012 at 11:17 am

    […] we managed some downtime on the couch before my parents arrived to help us with our back garden. My mom and I worked on the front flower beds a few weeks ago, but that was nothing compared to the state of our garden in the backyard. It was a mess. I mean […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


