Getting rid of cable

May 25, 2012 at 7:00 am Leave a comment

Well, I am pretty surprised about this. M cancelled our cable.

I KNOW.

In all honesty, soccer season is over so it made the decision easier. And, oh yeah, the cable company raised our bill by $50. We just didn’t want to pay them any more than we were. It’s not that can’t, it’s just that: no thank you.

We briefly discussed it on Tuesday evening, with M just really unsure about what he wanted to do. I think we agreed he would try to haggle the company to match the price we were paying. But in the time between when he got home from work on Wednesday and the time I got home, M had already pulled the plug. I guess the cable company was not willing to work with us, so we are trying out Netflix instead.

I am pretty excited actually. I usually only watched TV when M had it on, and never had control of the remote anyway. I’m even thinking now of the shows I did watch – The Good Wife, shows on the Food Network – and I’m not even bummed about not being able to watch them. TV really is a time suck, and especially in the summer, there is much more I’d rather be doing.

So, yeah, we cancelled the cable and I think it will end up being a great decision this summer.

Do you have cable? Have you ever considered going without it or getting it if you don’t have it?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Volunteering – The Children’s Museum, Round 2 Networking Podcast

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


