Volunteering – The Children’s Museum, Round 2

May 24, 2012 at 12:48 pm 1 comment

One of my resolutions in May is to volunteer more in my community. This is one post in a series discussing the volunteer opportunities I’ve sought out. 

I’ve already written about my experiences as a floor volunteer for the Children’s Museum, but I’ve recently added to my volunteer responsibilities for this great institution: running their Twitter account.

I actually approached the museum staff with this idea because I saw it as something that could help both the museum and, honestly, me.

For the museum, their Twitter account was really quiet. They just don’t have the staffing to make being on Twitter worthwhile or really take advantage of its opportunities. Of course social media – Twitter included – is not a marketing strategy, but it can be a tool for lifting up the great things happening at the museum and for building relationships with partners.

For me, I wanted to learn more about lifting up and marketing organizations through social media.  I recently became a little more literate in Twitter, and wanted to expand my opportunities to learn by running a different kind of Twitter account, i.e. not my personal one. Plus, it’s fun to share the work of the museum!  I also like that I can contribute to the organization in other ways besides being a floor volunteer, because I only have so much time to physically be at the museum.

I admit that it’s been a slow process. I try to Tweet at least once a day, and I try to be creative with those Tweets. My busy schedule often gets in the way, and I haven’t had a chance to be as strategic as I would like. But, the account is still more active than it was before I took it over, so there’s been some progress.

My broader point is that I think it’s good to keep in mind that organizations could use help in a lot of different ways, including ones they may not have thought of. This means as individuals we should think about what we’re good at and how our skills can help out organizations we care about. And don’t be afraid to suggest ways you can bring your skills to help groups out in different ways. They might say no, sure, but in general I think the thought behind your suggestion will be duly noted. And, of course, they might also say yes.

Have you proposed new ways to volunteer for organizations you care about? if not, why not? And if so, what came of it?

Entry filed under: Career. Tags: , , .

Allergic Reaction Getting rid of cable

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. June has arrived « Undefined Ambition  |  June 2, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    […] allergic reaction, a dear friend’s wedding, and trying to stay afloat with my actual job and volunteer responsibilities – let’s just say it’s been a little crazy! But, I got a lot of […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


