Thoughts on conferences

May 21, 2012 at 11:10 am 1 comment

I was away most of last week at a work conference, so I wanted to write a few thoughts on conferences in general in the context of my career. I found the experience incredibly valuable – and exhausting with its three jam-packed days and some group bonding opportunities.

Part of the value lies in the chance to interact with other people doing my job, since we’re all isolated in our different offices. That’s a huge opportunity, and one I took full advantage of. But, I also appreciated the chance to meet people in other positions throughout the country, including our headquarters staff and some of the leadership. So, the relationship-building that took place made the conference worthwhile in itself.

But then there was the intense learning opportunities through conference plenaries and workshops. Just to hash out what’s happening and how other people approach work is fascinating, and offers new perspectives on what we’re trying to accomplish. Again, so important. I learned a lot of new things, and can’t wait to really re-visit all of my notes to start digesting everything.

Between the relationship-building and the learning, as I said, I was exhausted. There is no other way to do it though. You sometimes need to immerse yourself in a conference atmosphere and take in as much as you can in order to push yourself in the daily grind. Sometimes, taking a step away from it all – as exhausting as it is – can be energizing for the work we do every day.

Time to get moving!

Entry filed under: Career. Tags: , , , .

Coffeebreak Episode 2: Motivation Allergic Reaction

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. June has arrived « Undefined Ambition  |  June 2, 2012 at 2:05 pm

    […] – I have been horribly absent from the blog! Between a work conference, an allergic reaction, a dear friend’s wedding, and trying to stay afloat with my actual job […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


