Using Twitter to Work Smarter

April 25, 2012 at 11:13 am 4 comments

I think I started my Twitter account sometime in college, but it never got much use. I really didn’t understand it or know what to do with it. I kept the account open through graduate school, but didn’t use it a whole lot then either. Since working though, I’ve started to be much more active on it, partly because my organization is active on it and we have opportunities to re-tweet what they say or participate in certain hastag days, or whatever (I still don’t really know all the lingo).

The thing about Twitter is that it’s not always working smarter. You might recall that working smarter is one of my resolutions for April. I promise I’ve been trying to implement each resolution in my own way, including through working smarter. I’ve tried to collaborate more with folks from different offices, for example. But seriously the line between Twitter being useful and Twitter being a time suck is very very fine.

That’s why this article about Twitter from the Happiness Project really piqued my interest. As usual, Rubin nails it:

Twitter has one major drawback for happiness: it uses up time, and time is in short supply for most of us. It’s true, it’s an efficient way to scan headlines, keep up with passions, and connect with people, but the fact is, it may tempt you to spend too much time using it, or to use it to procrastinate from other, less enticing work. It may eat up your time so that you have less time for face-to-face encounters with real people.

Well, yes to all of that. I should spend more time trying to learn more tips and tricks of Twitter to make it more efficient. For example, the New Organizing Institute, a great organization to know about, posted recently about Twitter lists, and I’ve had this suggestion in the back of my mind to try.

In the last 5 days of April, this task is one that I hope to cross off my wish list!

 

Entry filed under: Work. Tags: , .

A Quiet Birthday Stepping Up

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eemusings  |  April 26, 2012 at 11:49 am

    Lists are awesome – both curating your own, and following others.

    It took me a while to really understand Twitter, but once you’re following some of the ‘right’ people for you and joining in conversations, it just clicks.

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  April 26, 2012 at 3:11 pm

      Thanks for the motivation to figure lists out! I agree that the more I understand it, the more useful it seems. Thanks for commenting!!

      Reply
  • 3. April Wrap Up and May Kickoff « Undefined Ambition  |  May 3, 2012 at 1:47 am

    […] but I tried to tackle it the best I could, and wrote about specific topics such as time management, Twitter and work, and , probably my favorite mini series, stepping up and its results. I also tried to expand my […]

    Reply
  • […] the past few days, I’ve really focused on figuring out Twitter – including the list feature, as well as WordPress and Podbean. It’s a slow process, mainly because I don’t have […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


