Time Management

April 9, 2012 at 10:57 am 1 comment

Another Monday, another week filled with a lot to do. The key to getting it all done, in my view, is managing my time well. Some weeks it feels like I am treading water, barely keeping my head up, and without a plan and a to-do list and an ability to manage my time, I’d go under for sure.

My time as a student taking heavy course loads and being involved in other things definitely instilled in me a strong sense of time management. I am attached at the hip to my calendar/planner – and use both weekly and monthly versions of it. I also make lists and lists and lists – what to do, who to call, what to follow up on, what I’m waiting for. But those lists keep me sane. And it feels good to cross things off and feels even better when I get to recycle that particular list.

I manage my leisure time in a different way, I suppose. Mainly I keep far less lists. I still put personal events in my planner, and jot notes to myself, but with much less rigidity. My lists are more mental. But, I did find a great wedding planning timeline and checklist, which I am very excited about – not necessarily because it involves weddings, but because there is a lot to do and it’s really helpful to have a resource to help me manage my time and my priorities.

I don’t know how people who can’t manage their time function effectively. I’m not a fly-by-the-seat of my pants soul though.  I much prefer to be organized and thoughtful, changing the world with my to-do list in hand.

Entry filed under: Work. Tags: , , , , , , .

Quiet mornings My Vision

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. April Wrap Up and May Kickoff « Undefined Ambition  |  May 3, 2012 at 1:47 am

    […] and far between, but I tried to tackle it the best I could, and wrote about specific topics such as time management, Twitter and work, and , probably my favorite mini series, stepping up and its results. I also […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


