Quiet mornings

April 7, 2012 at 10:50 am 1 comment

I’ve always found something so lovely in being awake before anyone else. There is a peacefulness to the world before the hustle and bustle kicks in.

I remember being on our week-long class trip to Spain during my semester abroad and taking a walk in the morning before we had to meet in the hotel lobby for breakfast. It was a chance to get out on my own a bit, away from my classmates and the rigid structure of our schedule, and see a little of the area surrounding our hotel.

The mornings aren’t always glamorous. Yes, there’s the breath-taking sunrise, but there’s also people sleeping on the streets and other people picking up all the trash from the day before. I remember, too, walking through Amsterdam’s Red Light District in the morning, and smelling the garbage and beer.

But, always – always – mornings offer a sense of peace and renewal.

I’m up early today to have coffee and a bite to eat before a long run to get ready for the 10-mile race I have coming up. You’d think I’d mind waking up at 6 am on a Saturday, but it’s actually nice. Mornings have always been a place of peaceful, quiet comfort to me.

Nothing beats being up before the world, especially when you’ve got a good cup of coffee in your hands.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Peanutty Noodles Time Management

1 Comment Add your own

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


