Peanutty Noodles

April 6, 2012 at 11:02 am 1 comment

I’ve mentioned before that due to my work schedule, which has me working until 7 or 8 Monday-Thursday, I don’t often cook dinner. Luckily, we go to M’s grandma’s every Sunday for dinner, and regularly bring home enough leftovers for a couple of nights. I try to pick out one night a week that I will cook something – usually it’s a night when I only work until 7. Last night, I finally made it happen!

I made Peanutty Noodles, based on this recipe that includes a marinated steak component. We aren’t huge meat eaters, so I left out the steak. The noodles were a hit though!! I also had to cut the sauce in half, since we went steak-less, and make a few other changes. For example, we didn’t have snow peas.

Another quick note: The original recipe said it serves four, but if there are only one or two of you, cutting it in half might be a good idea. We made the whole thing and have TONS of leftovers. Which could be a good thing, but we have a busy and food-packed weekend, so I’m not sure how that’s going to work out.

Anyway, without further ado, here is the recipe as I used it:

1/2 cup pineapple juice

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger

1/2 teaspoon sesame oil

1/2 garlic clove, minced

1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1 12-oz package of chow mein noodles

1/2 bag frozen green peas

1-2 carrots, diced/chopped/cut into thin strips – however you like it!

1/2 cup smooth peanut butter

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

2 scallions, white and green, sliced on the diagonal

I started by cooking the frozen peas according to package directions. In the meantime, just mix together the pineapple juice, soy sauce, ginger, sesame oil, garlic, and crushed red pepper flakes in a small to medium bowl.

When the peas are finished heating through, drain them in a collander, and then put the chopped carrots in the colander, too, and set aside. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a rapid boil. Add the noodles and cook for 3 minutes or until al dente. Drain the noodles in the colander (yes, on top of the peas and carrots) and run under cold water.

Whisk the peanut butter and lime juice into the sauce you set aside earlier. Toss with the cooked noodles, vegetables, and half the scallions. Sprinkle with the remaining scallions.

Done and done! I mean, this recipe was so easy, even someone as chaotic in the kitchen as me remained calm while preparing it. The sauce was delicious – how could anything that involves peanut butter be anything but delicious? And there was a very very very subtle heat from the red pepper flakes that I really enjoyed.

Probably the best part is that you could really use any vegetables you had on hand! I bet you could even make it with regular pasta noodles, although M and I both enjoyed the chow mein noodles, partially because they are different from what we typically eat.

Anyway, definitely a winning recipe. Try it out, and let me know what you think!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , .

Tackling this month Quiet mornings

1 Comment Add your own

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


