Tackling this month

April 3, 2012 at 11:09 am 1 comment

I still haven’t figure out how best to write about this month’s topic, work. And maybe I won’t figure it out until the end. But in the meantime, I’ve been scoping out The Happiness Project site for some tips and tricks on working  smarter – which is a strategy I am sure most people need or at least need to revisit.

In chronological order, Gretchen Rubin’s first post deals with increasing productivity, and her tips really relate to all aspects of our lives, including and especially work. I think she hits this point right on:

7. Be diligent about “unsubscribing.” I need to be better at this. We all find our way onto email lists and newsletters of all sorts, and I often let weeks or months go by before taking five seconds to unsubscribe. But it’s worth it, to weed out clutter from your in-box.

Next up, Rubin breaks down tips for being happier at work, which fall into two main categories: your physical work space and  your day. I think it’s critical to reflect on how we spend our time and to take a little time each day to make sure our work space. desk, office is comfortable and conducive to, well, working. This is a big one that I need to keep working on:

3. Sit up straight — every time I do, I instantly feel more energetic and cheerier.

And this is another one I’d like to try to work into my routine:

12. Go outside at least once a day, and if possible, take a walk. The sunlight and activity is good for your focus, mood, and retention of information.

The last post I want to mention today has to do with creating a happier and more productive workplace, which asks a series of questions to help determine if you’re workplace is indeed happy. The questions are interesting:

3. At work, do I have the opportunity to do what I do best every day?
4. In the last seven days, have I received recognition or praise for doing good work?
5. Does my supervisor, or someone at work, seem to care about me as a person?
6. Is there someone at work who encourages my development?

And, she closes with this tidbit:

I was also interested to see that the study suggested that people’s opinions of their workplaces are more determined by their immediate manager than by the overall company. It was their direct manager – not money, benefits, perks, or a charismatic leader at the top – that was the critical element for people.

If I can’t blog about work, I can at least link to folks who can! But seriously, these links are great sources and food for thought for anyone who works. Check ’em out!

Entry filed under: Months, Work. Tags: , , .

April 2 – What to write about & Weekend Recap Peanutty Noodles

1 Comment Add your own

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


