How am I doing?

March 22, 2012 at 10:58 am Leave a comment

March is rapidly coming to a close, which is astonishing and exciting. I think I’ve done a solid job with my resolutions focusing on my relationship with M. For example, when we’ve had an argument or moment of bickering, my mind immediately goes to fight right, and especially the rule to never rebuff a repair attempt by your partner. I think the reason this strikes me in particular is because how easy it would be for one rebuff to turn into a month, a year, and then the relationship has fallen apart and it’s too late. It sounds crazy, perhaps, but I think it’s a state many marriages find themselves in. I’ve noticed, too, that M and I have never really been a couple to let an argument, however small or larger, linger. We usually end up pouting (I know, I know) until someone speaks first, but  I don’t think there’s ever been a time we’ve moved on without discussing.

I also reflect on the No Dumping and Don’t Expect Praise resolutions every day as I get home. I try to be selective about what I say about my day, and try even harder to not ask for praise for things I did that day. For the latter, I’m noticing that M does a lot of stuff around the house, too, and we both often thank each other for the things we do. So do I really need praise for re-filling the soap dispensers in the bathroom? No, because it needed to be done.

Finally, I’ve been showing my love by attempting to cook, not freaking out about our wedding, suggesting we go for walks, laughing up a storm, among other things. It’s easy to show love when you do, in fact, love someone, but the challenge of course is that it’s easy to put off showing love because you’re convinced they will be there tomorrow. I don’t want to be like that, so I’m going to do everything I can to show love every moment.

A lot of this month has been reflection and minor changes in behavior, but I like it that way. And I’m ready to spend the remaining week or so knee deep in love, working on a strong foundation for our marriage.

Entry filed under: Relationship. Tags: , , , , , , .

I am chaotic in the kitchen Decisions, Decisions.

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


