I am chaotic in the kitchen

March 21, 2012 at 11:13 am 3 comments

Yes, I must confess that as much as I want to be a calm and put together chef in my kitchen, I am anything but that. Seriously,  it’s total chaos.

What does this have to do with relationships (it is still March after all)? Well, I want to be able to cook fresh, healthy meals for myself and for M. This is somewhat of a challenge because of my work schedule, and I wouldn’t want to eat full meals at nearly 8 pm every night, so I usually try to pick two nights a week to cook. I also think preparing food is a great way to show your love to someone. (BTW, I expect this to be reciprocated, and M does cook about as much as I do).

Admittedly, I had gotten away from trying new recipes and actually cooking them, so this week I was determined to cook two brand new recipes twice. First up was a recipe for Spinach and Chicken Stir Fry with Raspberries from Iowa Girl Eats. I had cooked with raw chicken only a few times before.

I broke rule #1 in the kitchen, which is get everything ready to go before you even start cooking (I used to watch the Food Network a lot and Chef Ann Burrell feels very strongly about this. She would have been very displeased with me last night.) I am too inpatient! I think if I start cooking right away it will be done faster and oh yeah all magically come together. Note: this is not the case. It actually leaves me running around like a maniac, making a huge mess (who spilled uncooked quinoa on the floor last night? me. that’s who), and losing my shit.

I also get really paranoid about getting salmonella or other diseases from things like raw chicken and eggs. So it’s very stressful to cook with them – which is why I really shied away from cooking with raw chicken. It is INTENSE. Plus in the recipe I didn’t just plop the whole chicken breast in the pan, I had to cut it into strips. (Another thing: I hate getting  my hands yucky. I don’t know why, because I am not a girly girl. I just don’t like when my hands feel gross). It didn’t help that I probably got the largest chicken breasts in the history of the world, and we have really small cookware, so when I did put the strips in the pan there was only kind of enough room.

Oh but I skipped my other challenge: rinsing quinoa. I mean, really. It sticks together and to me as soon as it gets wet. And I can’t drain it in my collander because it goes right through the holes itself and gets stuck which makes it a pain in the butt to clean. So you tell me how on earth I am supposed to rinse it?!?! SO I ended up cooking less than the 1/2 cup in the recipe, but we did end up having enough for the two of us, so I guess that’s good news.

Luckily, the quinoa, chicken broth, and garlic powder cooked up easily and without much need of help from me, once I managed to get them into the pan together. I think I got chicken broth all over my shirt though trying to hurry up and open the can.

The chicken, although crammed in the pan, and the onions cooked up nicely, too. I definitely got excited when they started to brown! In my panicked state, I didn’t really season the chicken though, and I probably should have added more seasoning once I put the spinach in the pan to wilt (in addition to the salad dressing,which of course added a lot of flavor).

I grated up some cheese like a champ though. It just got all over the counter, too.

Throughout all this chaos, M returned home from the store and really calmed me down. He also helped me clean up after, which was great. And he really like the meal. I thought it was good, too, although I would probably leave out the raspberries next time.

I definitely plan to prep everything before cooking on Friday evening, and since I get home earlier on Fridays, hopefully I will feel like I have more time and take it slower. But we all know that won’t happen, and I’ll end up making another mess.

Entry filed under: Relationship. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Wedding Kickoff How am I doing?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. How am I doing? « Undefined Ambition  |  March 22, 2012 at 10:58 am

    […] I’ve been showing my love by attempting to cook, not freaking out about our wedding, suggesting we go for walks, laughing up a storm, among other […]

    Reply
  • 2. Peanutty Noodles « Undefined Ambition  |  April 6, 2012 at 11:02 am

    […] and done! I mean, this recipe was so easy, even someone as chaotic in the kitchen as me remained calm while preparing it. The sauce was delicious – how could anything that involves […]

    Reply
  • 3. Pretend you’re good at it. « Undefined Ambition  |  May 8, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    […] best example for me is cooking. I’ve detailed my challenges in the kitchen before. I really think these challenges come from my attitude about cooking. I approach cooking […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


