Laughter (& Love)

March 14, 2012 at 11:10 am 1 comment

Does anyone else have a keen sense of how good laughing makes them feel?

I love laughing. It makes me feel incredibly light and happy, and tends to relax me as well. I think it also makes anything I’m upset about seem ridiculous and insignificant – because, well, they usually are.

Laughter is also one reason I want to make sure I’m giving everything I’ve got to my relationship with M: he makes me laugh and I don’t want to forgo an opportunity to laugh out of stubbornness. That seems selfish, but I am pretty sure M loves when I laugh (he’s told me this many times and I don’t think he’s kidding!), and when we’re laughing together I definitely think it lifts us both up.

We have a way of infecting each other with laughter, too, which carries on the silliness and lightness for a few extra minutes.

If we ever stopped being silly and laughing together? Well, then I’d be worried about us. And, as I said, I don’t ever want to get there (is that obvious? I mean we’re getting married. But I do feel that way, and I think it’s important to say. So.). I think that means being silly and laughing even when you might not feel like it right then. That’s when laughing can be extra important – it gives you a moment to let go, and puts everything you have to do (or think you have to do) in perspective. And for me and M, this is critical, because when I am stressed, his strategy is usually to try to relieve the tension by making me laugh. So, instead of resisting, I should just laugh.

So my takeaway is this: Laughing is a great thing. Laughing with your sweetheart is on the list of Most Wonderful Things of All Time.

PS. This was just proven, as M came in to say good bye before leaving for work, and we had a silly, hearty laugh. So, go laugh. Now!

 

Entry filed under: Relationship. Tags: , , , , , , , .

A snapshot Love in a cold, dark world

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. How am I doing? « Undefined Ambition  |  March 22, 2012 at 10:58 am

    […] my love by attempting to cook, not freaking out about our wedding, suggesting we go for walks, laughing up a storm, among other things. It’s easy to show love when you do, in fact, love someone, but the […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


