Making the most of our time together each day

March 3, 2012 at 12:39 pm Leave a comment

It’s a fact of life that there just isn’t enough time for everything. It’s the sad truth that often our most important relationships get sidelined first.

With M and I, our job schedules are not perfectly matched, with me getting home two or three hours after him during the week as it is. But even being at home together doesn’t mean we’re spending time – or quality time – together. So when we do get to be at home together, especially when we’re doing something together, it’s important to make the most of that time. I try to be grateful for such time every day but there are two ways I could relax and enjoy it more:

Don’t expect praise for every little thing.

No Dumping.

In some ways, these are opposite. With the first, I try to highlight all the good things I am doing, whether at work or around the house, because I want a pat on the back. For the latter, it basically means that I talk about the negative aspects of my day with the expectation of sympathy.

And this is just an invaluable use of time. It’s not like he never thanks me for cleaning something up, or sympathizes me about something that happened in my day, it’s just that I don’t need to expect that all the time. That’s not his job! Plus he does his equal share of work around the house and has things he would like to complain about, so it’s selfish for me to only worry about his reaction to my stuff.

Well, we’ll see what happens here. It’s in my DNA to want A’s so it will be hard to shake the first one. And I think I will have to selectively dump – because sometimes you just need to get some frustration out, or it will make you crazy. It will definitely be a challenge, but if I can at least keep both of these tendencies in check, I will call this month a success.

Entry filed under: Relationship. Tags: , , , , , , .

Dealing with inevitable conflict Showing some love

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


