March 1: Kicking off a month devoted to looooooooooooooove

March 1, 2012 at 12:07 pm Leave a comment

Happy March everyone! It’s a little crazy that it’s here already, but I am rolling with it. After all, in like a lion, out like a lamb, as they say, right? And oh I can’t wait for Spring!

When I wrote the initial post laying out my plans for March, it’s true M was my “boyfriend.” And now, we’re engaged!!!!!!! So exciting! And as we are officially gearing up to commit to each other for the duration (haha), it makes these resolutions more important than ever! As I did for February, I’ll re-visit each goal during the first few days of this month, but today is about general reflections.

Marriage has a history wrought with, well, sexism. Women were literally property under the law, transferred from father to husband. We had no rights. None. And even in recent history, marriage has been seen as a woman’s Ultimate Goal so that she can lead a peaceful, domestic life and raise children, the only thing she is capable of doing.*

So why on earth do I want to jump on that bandwagon?

Well I believe in the idea of marriage – 2 people (of any sex and gender expression!) committing to a lifetime of love and, let’s be real, hard work and partnership! I also, to be honest, believe in the idea of weddings – a big party for the important people in your life to kickoff and celebrate such commitment.

And it’s with that in mind that I undertake my resolutions for this month. It’s important to be to build the foundation now for a happy, healthy marriage. That means figuring out how best to deal with inevitable conflict, making the most of the time we have together each day, and making sure it’s clear how deep my love goes.

Seems simple! But in the chaos of every day, sometimes are most important relationships become the ones easiest to fluff off – “oh, he’ll be there tomorrow.” No. It doesn’t work like that, and to continue my habit of really trying hard to appreciate every moment, this month will focus on, to put it simply, not fluffing off this relationship.

*First, I think it’s great if women decide to stay home now! The catch is that back then, it was our only option and the only thing we were thought capable of doing. Also, some women are still forced to stay home because of our horrible family policies in this country and the gender wage gap. But, I digress. Oh, also poor women have always worked – just something to keep in mind.

Entry filed under: Months, Relationship. Tags: , , , , , , .

February Wrap Up Dealing with inevitable conflict

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!

Follow me on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


