Why waking up earlier is an energy boost

February 21, 2012 at 12:14 pm 4 comments

During the month of February, as I’ve been trying to boost my energy, I’ve also been waking up earlier to write. To some people this would seem counter intuitive. But I actually wish I could wake up even earlier. I usually work 10-7 though, and my gym doesn’t open until 7:30. So it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to wake up before my current 6:40 alarm.  What would I do? Plus I still need 8 hours of sleep, so I’d have to get better about going to bed around 10.

So I get up at 6:40 when I really don’t have to get up until 7:10 to get to the gym when it opens. Why? Well, I can’t stand the thought of other people enjoying the day longer than me. I want to be awake for as much of the day as possible – and mornings are my favorite time to be awake. I love the sunrise, and the peace of the morning. I always have. It feel romantic to be up before everyone, whereas I am usually the first to fall asleep anyway, so why stay up later? I also like waking up slowly while I am writing (I like waking up by running, too, it’s just different.) And just getting some words, sentences, and thoughts, out is very energizing for me. I definitely feel good after I write, even if it’s just a short post. That’s why I keep doing it, even today when I am working 1:30-10.

The challenge is that I am sleepy while I am writing, and sometimes go back and find silly typos, etc. I also don’t give my blog the attention it needs so that other people actually read what I am waking up early to write. But at this point, I am writing for me, so I guess that’s OK. And it’s doesn’t need to be done all at once – I still need to figure out an identity for the blog and the only way to do that is really through writing.

All in all, I like waking up as early as I can at this point. I do recognize the need to do a better job of getting my butt to bed though. Even though I want to get to bed at a certain time, it’s easy to put it off – but I always regret it the next morning!

Waking up earlier is definitely worth it for the killer sunrise outside my office window right now  – oh yeah, and the peace of writing before the chaos of the day.

P.S. It just occurred to me to check out The Happiness Project site for her take on waking up earlier and sure enough, she had my thoughts exactly.

Entry filed under: Sustainable Energy. Tags: , , , , , .

Getting moving on a Monday Checking In: 7 days to go in February

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TheOthers1  |  February 21, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    Waking up early is not something I relish, but it could be because I don’t go to bed early. I think I work better at midmorning. Being awake before 8 seems criminal even though my insomnia makes that happen for me anyway. Your excitement is catching though. It made me think about going to bed early and waking up to write. Maybe I wouldn’t wake up in the middle of the night to do it if I changed my patterns. Anyway, nice post. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. Steph  |  February 23, 2012 at 12:05 pm

      Thanks! I’ve never suffered from insomnia, so I don’t know if shaking up your routing would help. At the Happiness Project I linked to in the post, she often wrote about trying to wake up earlier and did it in increments – so she went to bed 10 minutes earlier, and then got up 10 minutes earlier, and so on and so forth, until she settled on 6. Thanks for the comment!

      Reply
  • 3. February Wrap Up « Undefined Ambition  |  February 29, 2012 at 12:09 pm

    […] Waking up earlier can actually be an energy boost. […]

    Reply
  • 4. Up before the sun. To run? « Undefined Ambition  |  January 4, 2013 at 7:00 pm

    […] written before about waking up early to write. But now that I am starting a new job, with regular starting hours (i.e 8:30 am instead […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


