Getting moving on a Monday

February 20, 2012 at 12:03 pm Leave a comment

It’s no secret that Mondays are low-energy days for most people, and getting up and moving on Monday mornings can be difficult. That is the case for me today.

After a busy, but very fun weekend, of traveling with friends to Cincinnati and my Alma mater, Miami University, I am even more tired than usual this morning. I do plan to go to bed a little earlier than usual today (last night it was a little later…), but I have to make it through a whole day before I can get there. And getting back into my routine can be a challenge – but it’s also energizing. I find comfort in my routine, especially when I’ve been out of it for a few days and have  a chance to get back into it.

But energy is still hard to come by on Mondays like this, and keeping my energy up won’t be easy. I think getting back to the gym will give me an energy boost, as will my ritual of enjoying coffee and breakfast, while reading the paper afterwards. I will also be sure to stand up and walk around for a few minutes once an hour or so to keep my blood moving.

I also find making a to-do list at the beginning of the day, and then crossing things off as I go is a great way to keep me motivated. It also helps me highlight which things I need to do that just take a few minutes that I can get out of the way instantly – in the spirit of the one-minute rule – and holds me accountable to completing them.

Of course, I will follow the one-minute rule for clutter and minimize mindless browsing on the Internet. And I will try so so so hard not to lollygag.

Acting more energetic will be critical to my success today though. One thing is certain: I can’t sit around and talk about how tired I am! I need to dive into my work with gusto and enthusiasm.

That sentence made me tired. 🙂

Feeling this low energy today was definitely worth it for the great weekend I had with great friends. Maybe that will help me to stay focused on my work…

Either way, bring it on Monday!

Entry filed under: Sustainable Energy. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Why I’m troubled by Lebron James on the front page of the newspaper Why waking up earlier is an energy boost

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


