Workout Fail

February 16, 2012 at 12:06 pm Leave a comment

I had to do a very difficult thing for me yesterday – cut my workout short and leave the gym. However, considering I just posted about overthinking at the gym, I felt like I was in a pretty good place to make this decision.

Here is what happened:

I had to be at work early, so I planned to go to the gym after work. I was looking forward to the workout all day, especially toward the early evening. When I got to the gym, I was still excited to get moving. After changing and storing my bag in a locker, I hopped on the treadmill with a new routine. The whole time I felt a little..off. Then at minute 20, I was supposed to up my speed – fast, but nothing I haven’t done before. I instantly started to feel sick – dizzy, nauseous, confused. There was no overthinking involved; I dropped my speed down to a walking pace. That did not last long, because I soon realized I needed to stop completely.

I stood on the treadmill for what seemed like a long time, but it probably was less than a minute trying to recover. I decided to walk for a minute, which I did – and felt OK. So I decided to try to pick up my run where I left off. Nope. Not happening. I instantly felt sick again. UGH. I decided to give working out one more shot by switching to the bike. Even that made me feel awful pretty instantly.

So, I left.

Although I say it was “a difficult thing”, what I really mean is that I thought it would be difficult. But it really wasn’t. I didn’t give a second thought to the other people in the gym. I knew I felt sick and needed to get out of there.

What does this have to do with energy? Well, for one thing I saved a lot of energy by not fighting with myself about leaving the gym. I also think even though I felt like I had energy, my body may have been sending a different message. There are a lot of things that affect our bodies, so it’s important to listen to what it tells you.

I’m glad I left. I felt sick for a bit after, but by bedtime I was feeling all right. I rested last night and went to bed a little earlier, and feel pretty good this morning. So yeah, I made the right decision. I just hope I don’t have to make the same one tonight!

Entry filed under: Sustainable Energy. Tags: , , .

A new take on cleaning Things I don’t like to put off

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


