Confession: Yesterday was a struggle.

February 8, 2012 at 12:18 pm 1 comment

I was totally drained of energy yesterday. And it wasn’t pretty.

To recap, the night before I had canvassed, so I didn’t get home until after 10, and my body was achy – my legs from walking at a solid pace for 4+ hours, and my back and shoulders from carrying my bag and my clipboard. So I was achy, and I ate a late dinner – of course because I got home so late. And went to bed around 11. It was an all right sleep, but the morning came quickly, and I didn’t even get up earlier to write.

I made it to the gym – I think I was even too tired to think through if it should be a rest day or not. I was also able to get through the day and be productive, but I felt awful all day, as if I’d only gotten four hours of sleep or something. It was strange. I do think I did the best I could though – I followed the one minute rule at home and and at work, making sure not to put things off that only take a minute, and now that I think about it, I had done some strength training at the gym Monday morning, which is pretty recent in my book! I did the best I could to limit my Facebook time, except when I had to comment about the State of the State speech. I tried SO hard not to lollygag. Really I did. This is an especially difficult trap when I’m really tired though – sometimes I will zone out (especially in the shower!) and not even know I am lollygagging until it’s too late. Yesterday, though, I worked really hard at this, and I think it paid off.

I also had to act more energetic than I felt for most of the day. In fact, I ended up staying at work an extra half an hour and having a great conversation with a higher up, despite my serious lack of energy. I had a bad moment when I got home. While waiting for my Stuffed Zucchini to bake (M prepared it, and left it out to throw in the oven when I got home, so it would be a hot meal for me and him :)), I sat down on the couch.

Our couch is no ordinary couch. It happens to be one of the most comfortable pieces of furniture I have ever sat on. If you are even a little tired, it will squeeze that tiredness to the top and put you to sleep so fast, you won’t even know what hit you. Well I sat laid down on the couch, and although I didn’t fall asleep, it was really really really hard to move, let along act energetic! I must have laid there the whole time dinner was in the oven, and I had almost convinced myself I didn’t need dinner, I could just lay there all night.

Luckily, common sense kicked in, and I forced myself to get up. Sometimes, it takes all the energy in the world to get up from a comfortable seat when you’re tired. But I got up. and I was able to act pretty energetically the rest of the night, while eating, doing the dishes, making my lunch salad for the next day.

All in all I think I learned that: even though I am trying very hard to keep my energy level up, I will still have days with a serious lack of energy. And that’s OK. There’s not much to be done about that really – it’s life. We can’t create these perfect conditions for rest and energy all the time, as much as we would want to. So you just have to be able to deal with days like that, and push through without being unhappy. You have to dig deep an act with way more energy than you feel, and you have to still follow the one minute rule to avoid clutter, and as much as I hate it, there can still be no lollygagging.

Entry filed under: Sustainable Energy.

Getting an energy boost from tackling the tower Busier, but happier

1 Comment Add your own

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


