November Resolutions for Spirituality

January 30, 2012 at 12:29 pm Leave a comment

The month of Thanksgiving and the beginning of the holiday season seems like a good month to explore spirituality and its relationship to my happiness. I was raised Roman Catholic, but the rigid aspects of the church and its politics don’t appeal to me. I’m also not sure I’m really interested in a “religion” but I do want to learn as much as I can about the broader subject of spirituality. I like vaguer notions of a higher power, rather than strict church teachings and rituals, especially because in more traditional religions, those teaching and rituals often exclude women. Like this epic sunrise outside my office window right now – reminding me of something larger than myself. I would take a picture, but it wouldn’t capture the awe-inspiring beauty of it.

Anyway, my resolutions for this month will focus on learning more about spirituality and the various forms it takes as well as reflecting more on the things I am grateful for in my daily life. I have only come up with two resolutions thus far, but I think that is OK.

  • Explore different religions and other forms of spirituality – mostly this will involve reading and taking notes and thinking about what I’ve read. Which is fine with me, because I did love being a student. I may also read about spiritual people, especially women, to learn about their lives and spiritual experiences
  • Keep a gratitude notebook – This resolution again came from Gretchen Rubin’s happiness project, and although in her book she says she ended up not staying with this resolution because she didn’t see the value, I think I will still try, every day, to write down three things I am grateful for. Maybe it will at least center and relax me at the end of the day.

Seriously though. This beautiful sunrise is spiritual enough for me.

Entry filed under: Months.

Our trip to the West Side Market December Resolutions for Attitude

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


