July Resolutions for Deepening and Forming Friendships

January 26, 2012 at 12:13 pm 1 comment

Besides my romantic relationship, which I will use March to focus on, I also really want to focus on friendships and July is the month for that. I’ve never been particularly good at friendships, but I hope to change that. Since I will hopefully have “improved” my happiness by appreciating everything more, and having more fun, ideally I will have improved my ability to keep and make friends. I’m not mean or a bad person, I just haven’t put enough effort into friendships. So here are my resolutions for July*:

  • Remember birthdays – this seems like an excellent way to begin showing to friends – and family – that I do care about them. Simple yet important. 
  • Be generous – I think this is pretty important for acting and being a true friend, even to acquaintances. I don’t think I am not generous now, but I do want to become more mindful of this and work to actively be generous. 
  • Show Up – Another basic thing, but critical. As Ms. Rubin said in her book, “unless you make consistent efforts, your friendships aren’t going to survive” (page 153 in my copy). So I definitely need to do better on this, especially as many of my friends are inching toward milestones like weddings. Also, Showing Up on Facebook doesn’t count, let’s just put that out there. 
  • Make New Friends – Honestly, I have no idea (logistically) how I plan to do this yet, but hopefully some of my other activities from previous months will help me – networking, volunteering, etc. In terms of how I will actually interact with prospective friends, definitely smiling, laughing a lot, not interrupting people are all solid strategies for being, well, likable. 
  • Don’t gossip – I think this is pretty self explanatory, but it’s definitely important for squeezing out some bad energy and cultivating positive energy.

This set of resolutions excites and unnerves me the most, which I think is a sign that this is an area in my life I definitely need to focus on to really truly complete my happiness project.

*I borrowed all these resolutions from the book The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. I have tried to be very clear that her work is my inspiration and, thus far, my only source.

Entry filed under: Months.

June Resolutions for Leisure August Resolutions for Pursuing my Passions

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. July + Friends « Undefined Ambition  |  July 6, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    […] I have been a little delinquent (again), but it’s time to officially leave leisure and June behind (maybe I’ve been lax about this because I’ve been enjoying June’s theme so much!) and focus for the month of July on deepening and forming friendships. […]

    Reply

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


