Sunny Morning Muffins

June 19, 2011 at 7:26 pm Leave a comment

Today I decided to make this muffin recipe I saw on Cooking for Real (show on the Food Network) a few weeks ago. Seriously, muffins with fresh banana, strawberries, and blueberries? How could that be bad? Plus the chef is Sunny Anderson, so the name of these muffins is a witty play on words. Which I love!

I was not disappointed by these muffins. And actually, I even took a chance (!) and tweaked the recipe a bit. Specifically, I substituted wheat flour for the all-purpose flour (this can be done at a 1:1 ratio). I also used 1/2 cup of natural (i.e. no sugar added) applesauce instead of the 2 eggs. (I used this website to gauge how much applesauce to use. They suggested 1/4 cup for 1 egg. It worked for me!)

It was exciting to not just make home-made muffins, but  also to feel confident enough in my skills and knowledge make substitutions.

These muffins are pretty darn good for you, especially with the wheat flour and the lack of eggs. There is sugar in them, sure, but I don’t normally eat much sugar, so it is fine for me to have these muffins. My downfall is salt not sugar, so this is a welcome change! I wouldn’t recommend substituting fake sweetener for the sugar though, as I believe the real thing is better for you than the fake stuff. Blech. So, everything in moderation. And the fresh fruit, apple sauce, walnuts, and whole wheat flour more than make up for this bit of sugar!

So this is the recipe I used (makes 12 muffins), taken from Food Network website, and edited with my substitutions:

Ingredients

1 cup strawberries, chopped

1 cup sugar, plus 2 tablespoons

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

Pinch ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon salt

1 ripe banana, mashed

½ cup applesauce

1/4 cup canola oil

1 lemon, zested

1/2 pint blueberries

1/4 cup chopped walnuts (note: original recipe called for 1 cup walnuts, but I only had 1/4 cup on hand. If When I make these again, I would use a whole cup.)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray muffin tin with cooking spray. (Note: in the future, I plan to invest in muffin liners and I recommend doing the same for this recipe).

In a small bowl, mix together strawberries and 2 tablespoons sugar. Let sit 15 minutes until strawberries give off juices.

In a small bowl, mix together flour, cinnamon, baking soda, nutmeg and salt.

In a large bowl, whisk together the mashed banana, applesauce, oil, 1 cup sugar, strawberries, and lemon zest.

Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until combined. Do not over mix. Fold in blueberries and walnuts.

Scoop batter evenly into muffin cups. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of muffin comes out with a few crumbs but not wet, about 30 minutes. Cool on a rack to room temperature. AND enjoy!

Here is what they look like (note: I have not refined my skills enough to focus on presentation. Still concerned mostly solely with taste!):

Fresh out of the oven!

Ready to dig in!

These muffins are definitely one of the most delicious things I’ve ever tasted. I highly recommend them!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Adventures in networking. Reflections on two years in DC.

What's on your mind?

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow Undefined Ambition!


